2014 Women’s Provincial Championship
August 12, 2014, 0:52:47

2014 Women’s Provincial Championship Album

Two new teams boost 2014 Women’s Provincial Championship
Selected matches to be broadcast as ITM Cup curtain raisers
Final WPC Draw released


Nine teams will compete in this year’s 2014 Women’s Provincial Championship (WPC) which kicks off next Saturday 23 August.

Bay of Plenty return to the competition for the first time since 2005, and the Hawke’s Bay women are back after a break in 2013, while Taranaki have chosen not to join the fray this year.

For the first time in the competition’s history, eight matches and the Final will be broadcast live as ITM Cup curtain raisers by SKY TV.

With nine teams in this year’s competition, each team will get a precious bye week.

The WPC Final will be played as a curtain raiser at the ITM Cup Premiership Final regardless of the venue on Saturday 25 October.


New Zealand Rugby General Manager Rugby Neil Sorensen said the expanded competition reflected a growing interest in women playing.

“We really welcome the fact the Provincial Unions are getting behind their women’s teams and many of them have some exciting club competitions that are helping to grow the game.

“We also know that an increasing interest from young women in Sevens is also playing a part in keeping interest in women’s rugby.

“Many of the women who play in this competition have used it as an opportunity to showcase their talent and to put their hands up for the national team.  It’s quite exciting to think that we have future Black Ferns and New Zealand Women’s Sevens players in this competition,” he said.

View the 2014 Women's Provincial Championship draw.



last updated: August 12, 2014, 0:52:47

website design by teapot media solutions